Lost Restaurants of Knoxville

History / Military

Lost Restaurants of Knoxville (American Palate) by Paula A. Johnson, Grady Regas
Shame: A Genealogy of Queer Practices in the 19th Century (Taking on the Political) by Bogdan Popa
British Colonialism and the Criminalization of Homosexuality: Queens, Crime and Empire (Focus on Global Gender and Sexuality) by Enze Han, Joseph O’Mahoney
Dewey on Education: Selections, no.3 (Classics in Education Series), 3rd Edition by Martin S. Dworkin
When a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of Africa by Peter Godwin

Lost Restaurants of Knoxville (American Palate) by Paula A. Johnson, Grady Regas

English | November 6, 2017 | ISBN: 1540227529, 1625859538 | EPUB | 226 pages | 3.4 MB

Over the past 225 years, Knoxville dining has come full circle–from early taverns and saloons to upscale continental cuisine and back to the roots of local eating experiences. Greek immigrants Frank and George Regas founded the legendary Regas Restaurant, which operated for 90 years, spreading culinary influence throughout the entire city. Early country music stars frequented Harold’s Deli while visiting the city to perform on Tennessee’s first live radio shows. Guests from around the world sat 266 feet in the air at the Sunsphere Restaurant, a fine dining establishment run by the Hardee’s Corporation during Knoxville’s World’s Fair.

Discover these and many more fascinating stories as author and historian Paula Johnson dives back in time through the stories of the city’s great restaurants.

Shame: A Genealogy of Queer Practices in the 19th Century (Taking on the Political) by Bogdan Popa

English | June 1, 2017 | ISBN: 1474419828 | PDF | 204 pages | 5 MB

A radical reframing of shame, based on 19th-century feminism from the standpoint of queer political theory
Shame proposes a new form of political action that shows how 19th century activists denaturalise conventional beliefs about sexuality and gender, and challenge strong asymmetries of power. For Victorians, shame did not merely generate negative feelings and low self-esteem but also had a great capacity to provoke political activism, leading to strategies for transforming political norms that exclude political outlaws.
Explores the theoretical and historical dynamics of shame within feminist theory and activism. Emphasies the creative and positive impact of shame. Fills a glaring absence in political theory by undertaking a genealogy of political interventions that predate the 20th century.

British Colonialism and the Criminalization of Homosexuality: Queens, Crime and Empire (Focus on Global Gender and Sexuality) by Enze Han, Joseph O’Mahoney

English | May 1, 2018 | ISBN: 0815367929 | PDF | 126 pages | 1.5 MB

British Colonialism and the Criminalization of Homosexuality examines whether colonial rule is responsible for the historical, and continuing, criminalization of same-sex sexual relations in many parts of the world.
Enze Han and Joseph O’Mahoney gather and assess historical evidence to demonstrate the different ways in which the British empire spread laws criminalizing homosexual conduct amongst its colonies. Evidence includes case studies of former British colonies and the common law and criminal codes like the Indian Penal Code of 1860 and the Queensland Criminal Code of 1899. Surveying a wide range of countries, the authors scrutinise whether ex-British colonies are more likely to have laws that criminalize homosexual conduct than other ex-colonies or other states in general They interrogate the claim that British imperialism uniquely ‘poisoned’ societies against homosexuality, and look at the legacies of colonialism and the politics and legal status of homosexuality across the globe.

Dewey on Education: Selections, no.3 (Classics in Education Series), 3rd Edition by Martin S. Dworkin

English | November 30th, 2017 | ASIN: B077538RKC, ISBN: 0807712639 | 134 Pages | EPUB | 4.71 MB

Dworkin has gathered some of Dewey’s clearest and most characteristic statements on education and set them in the stream of American social and intellectual history. In addition, he has indicated some of the rich literature available to those who would probe more deeply into Dewey’s ideas and the context in which they matured.

When a Crocodile Eats the Sun: A Memoir of Africa by Peter Godwin

English | April 10th, 2008 | ASIN: B005I4UBHK, ISBN: 0316018716, 0316158941 | 341 Pages | EPUB | 0.59 MB

Hailed by reviewers as “powerful,” “haunting” and “a tour de force of personal journalism,” When A Crocodile Eats the Sun is the unforgettable story of one man’s struggle to discover his past and come to terms with his present. Award winning author and journalist Peter Godwin writes with pathos and intimacy about Zimbabwe’s spiral into chaos and, along with it, his family’s steady collapse.
This dramatic memoir is a searing portrait of unspeakable tragedy and exile, but it is also vivid proof of the profound strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.
“In the tradition of Rian Malan and Philip Gourevitch, a deeply moving book about the unknowability of an Africa at once thrilling and grotesque. In elegant, elegiac prose, Godwin describes his father’s illness and death in Zimbabwe against the backdrop of Mugabe’s descent into tyranny. His parent’s waning and the country’s deterioration are entwined so that personal and political tragedy become inseparable, each more profound for the presence of the other” – Andrew Solomon, author of The Noonday Demon
“A fascinating, heartbreaking, deeply illuminating memoir that has the shape and feel of a superb novel.” -Kurt Anderson, author of Heydey