Giving Up the Ghost A Story About Friendship, 80s Rock, a Lost Scrap of Paper, and What It Means to Be Haunted

Biographies

Giving Up the Ghost: A Story About Friendship, 80s Rock, a Lost Scrap of Paper, and What It Means to Be Haunted by Eric Nuzum
Scarlet Women: The Scandalous Lives of Courtesans, Concubines, and Royal Mistresses by Ian Graham
The Ghosts of Gombe: A True Story of Love and Death in an African Wilderness by Dale Peterson
At Home in Nature: A Life of Unknown Mountains and Deep Wilderness by Rob Wood
Albert Einstein, The Human Side: Glimpses from His Archives edited by Helen Dukas, Banesh Hoffmann
Albert Einstein, The Human Side: Glimpses from His Archives edited by Helen Dukas, Banesh Hoffmann

Giving Up the Ghost: A Story About Friendship, 80s Rock, a Lost Scrap of Paper, and What It Means to Be Haunted by Eric Nuzum

English | August 7th, 2012 | ASIN: B0078XCLMC, ISBN: 0385342438 | 321 Pages | EPUB | 2.91 MB

At once hilarious and incredibly moving, Giving Up the Ghost is a memoir of lost love and second chances, and a ghost story like no other.
Eric Nuzum is afraid of the supernatural, and for good reason: As a high school oddball in Canton, Ohio, during the early 1980s, he became convinced that he was being haunted by the ghost of a little girl in a blue dress who lived in his parents’ attic. It began as a weird premonition during his dreams, something that his quickly diminishing circle of friends chalked up as a way to get attention. It ended with Eric in a mental ward, having apparently destroyed his life before it truly began. The only thing that kept him from the brink: his friendship with a girl named Laura, a classmate who was equal parts devoted friend and enigmatic crush. With the kind of strange connection you can only forge when you’re young, Laura walked Eric back to “normal”—only to become a ghost herself in a tragic twist of fate.
Years later, a fully functioning member of society with a great job and family, Eric still can’t stand to have any shut doors in his house for fear of what’s on the other side. In order to finally confront his phobia, he enlists some friends on a journey to America’s most haunted places. But deep down he knows it’s only when he digs up the ghosts of his past, especially Laura, that he’ll find the peace he’s looking for.

Scarlet Women: The Scandalous Lives of Courtesans, Concubines, and Royal Mistresses by Ian Graham

English | January 26th, 2016 | ASIN: B0111NF8T2, ISBN: 1250062632, 1910670316 | 304 Pages | EPUB | 0.81 MB
In 1965, an impoverished elderly woman was found dead in Nice, France. Her death marked the end of an era; she was the last of the great courtesans. Known as La Belle Otero, she was a volcanic Spanish beauty whose patrons included Kaiser Wilhelm II, the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) and Grand Duke Nicholas of Russia. She accumulated an enormous fortune, but gambled it all away.
Scarlet Women tells her story and many more, including:
• Marie Duplessis, who inspired characters by both Dumas and Verdi;
• Clara Ward, a rare American courtesan who hunted for a European aristocrat, but having married a Belgian prince, ran away with a gypsy violinist;
• Ninon de L’Enclos, who was offered 50,000 crowns by Cardinal Richelieu for one night. Money left in her will paid for Voltaire’s education.
Courtesans were an elite group of talented, professional mistresses. The most successful became wealthy and famous in their own right. While they led charmed lives, they occupied a curious position: they enjoyed freedom and political power unknown to most women, but they were ostracised by polite society. From the hetaerae of ancient Greece to the cortigiani onesti of 16th century Venice, the oiran of Edo-period Japan to the demimondaines of 19th century France, this captivating book–perfect for readers of A Treasury of Royal Scandals–uncovers the rich, colorful lives of these women who dared to pursue fortunes outside their societies’ norms.

The Ghosts of Gombe: A True Story of Love and Death in an African Wilderness by Dale Peterson

English | April 6, 2018 | ISBN: 0520297717 | EPUB | 232 pages | 5.3 MB

On July 12, 1969, Ruth Davis, a young American volunteer at Dr. Jane Goodall’s famous chimpanzee research camp in the Gombe Stream National Park of Tanzania, East Africa, walked out of camp to follow a chimpanzee into the forest. Six days later, her body was found floating in a pool at the base of a high waterfall.
With careful detail, The Ghosts of Gombe reveals for the first time the full story of day-to-day life in Goodall’s wilderness camp—the people and the animals, the stresses and excitements, the social conflicts and cultural alignments, and the astonishing friendships that developed between three of the researchers and some of the chimpanzees—during the months preceding that tragic event.
Was Ruth’s death an accident? Did she jump? Was she pushed? In an extended act of literary forensics, Goodall biographer Dale Peterson examines how Ruth’s death might have happened and explores some of the painful sequelae that haunted two of the survivors for the rest of their lives.

At Home in Nature: A Life of Unknown Mountains and Deep Wilderness by Rob Wood

English | November 10, 2017 | ISBN: 1771602503 | EPUB | 304 pages | 0.6 MB

The compelling story of one family’s life among the rugged landscapes of the Coast Mountains, converting youthful ideals, raw land and a passion for the outdoors into a practical off-grid homestead.
Rob Wood grew up in a village on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, where he eventually developed an obsessive preoccupation with rock climbing. After studying architecture for five years at the Architectural Association School in London, England, and becoming an architect, he made his way to Montreal, then to Winnipeg and ended up in Calgary. During his time in Canada, Rob became a pioneer of ice climbing and posted numerous first ascents in the Rockies.
Eventually, life in corporate Alberta proved unfulfilling and Rob realized that he needed to find a place where he could reconnect with nature, which brought him to the remote reaches of Canada’s West Coast. Settling on Maurelle Island, he and his wife built an off-the-grid homestead and focused on alternative communities and developing a small house-design practice specializing in organic and wholesome building techniques.
At Home in Nature is a gentle and philosophical memoir that focuses on living a life deeply rooted in the natural world, where citizens are connected to the planet and individuals work together to help, enhance and make the world a better – and sustainable – place.

Albert Einstein, The Human Side: Glimpses from His Archives edited by Helen Dukas, Banesh Hoffmann

English | October 27, 2013 | ISBN: 0691160236 | EPUB | 184 pages | 2.1 MB

Modesty, humor, compassion, and wisdom are the traits most evident in this illuminating selection of personal papers from the Albert Einstein Archives. The illustrious physicist wrote as thoughtfully to an Ohio fifth-grader, distressed by her discovery that scientists classify humans as animals, as to a Colorado banker who asked whether Einstein believed in a personal God. Witty rhymes, an exchange with Queen Elizabeth of Belgium about fine music, and expressions of his devotion to Zionism are but some of the highlights found in this warm and enriching book.