Hitler, Stalin and I An Oral History

Biographies

Hitler, Stalin and I: An Oral History by Heda Margolius Kovály, edited by Helena Tretíková, translated by Ivan Margolius
Overtaken by the Night: One Russian’s Journey through Peace, War, Revolution, and Terror (Russian and East European Studies) by Richard G. Robbins
Letters to my Fanny by Cherry Healey
Adventures of a Young Naturalist: The Zoo Quest Expeditions by Sir David Attenborough
Together: A Journey for Survival by Ann S. Arnold

Hitler, Stalin and I: An Oral History by Heda Margolius Kovály, edited by Helena Tretíková, translated by Ivan Margolius

English | February 13, 2018 | ISBN: 0998777005, ASIN: B0713MGWMV | AZW3 | 160 pages | 6.8 MB

Heda Margolius Kovály (1919-2010) was a renowned Czech writer and translator born to Jewish parents. Her bestselling memoir, Under a Cruel Star: A Life in Prague, 1941-1968 has been translated into more than a dozen languages. Her crime novel Innocence; or, Murder on Steep Street—based on her own experiences living under Stalinist oppression—was named an NPR Best Book in 2015.
In the tradition of Studs Terkel, Hitler, Stalin and I is based on interviews between Kovály and award-winning filmmaker Helena Treštíková. In it, Kovály recounts her family history in Czechoslovakia, starving in the deprivations of Lodz Ghetto, how she miraculously left Auschwitz, fled from a death march, failed to find sanctuary amongst former friends in Prague as a concentration camp escapee, and participated in the liberation of Prague. Later under Communist rule, she suffered extreme social isolation as a pariah after her first husband Rudolf Margolius was unjustly accused in the infamous Slánsky Trial and executed for treason. Remarkably, Kovály, exiled in the United States after the Warsaw Pact invasion in 1968, only had love for her country and continued to believe in its people. She returned to Prague in 1996.
Heda had an enormous talent for expressing herself. She spoke with precision and was descriptive and witty in places. I admired her attitude and composure, even after she had such extremely difficult experiences. Nazism and Communism afflicted Heda’s life directly with maximum intensity. Nevertheless, she remained an optimist.

Overtaken by the Night: One Russian’s Journey through Peace, War, Revolution, and Terror (Russian and East European Studies) by Richard G. Robbins

English | November 13, 2017 | ISBN: 0822945169, ASIN: B079M4KV48 | AZW3 | 584 pages | 1.9 MB

Vladimir Fedorovich Dzhunkovsky was a witness to Russia’s unfolding tragedy—from Tsar Alexander II’s Great Reforms, through world war, revolution, the rise of a new regime, and finally, his country’s descent into terror under Stalin. But Dzhunkovsky was not just a passive observer—he was an active participant in his troubled and turbulent times, often struggling against the tide. In the centennial of the Russian revolution, his story takes on special significance.
Highly readable, Overtaken by the Night captivates on many levels. It is a gripping biography of a man of many faces, a behind-the-curtain look at the inner workings of Russian politics at its highest levels, and also an engrossing account of ordinary Russians engulfed by swiftly moving political and social currents.
Dzhunkovsky served as a confidant in the tsar’s imperial court and as governor in Moscow province during and after the 1905 revolution. In 1913 he became the empire’s security chief, determined to reform the practices of the dreaded tsarist political police, the Okhrana. Dismissed from office for daring to investigate and warn Tsar Nicholas about Rasputin, his path led him into combat on the battlefields of the First World War. A natural leader of men, he held his units together even as revolution spilled into the trenches. Arrested as a counterrevolutionary in 1918 and imprisoned until 1921, Dzhunkovsky avoided execution thanks to an outpouring of public support and his reputation for treating revolutionaries with fairness and dignity. Although later he consulted for the Stalinist secret police, he was tried and executed in 1938 as an enemy of the people.
Based on Dzhunkovsky’s detailed memoirs and extensive archival research, Overtaken by the Night paints a fascinating picture of an important figure. Dzhunkovsky’s incredible life reveals much about a long and crucial period in Russian history. It is a story of Russia in revolution reminiscent of the fictional Doctor Zhivago, but perhaps even more extraordinary for being true.

Letters to my Fanny by Cherry Healey

English | August 1, 2016 | ISBN: 1405919795 | EPUB | 288 pages | 0.8 MB

How much more fun in life could I have had if I’d just stopped worrying so much and stopped beating myself up?
In this book, Cherry reveals the things she wishes her mother had told her, through a series of hilarious anecdotes and excruciating confessions.
Each chapter opens with a letter to a different body part: ‘Letters to my Fanny’ covers sex, orgasms and periods; ‘Letters to my Brain’ covers education, memory and media; ‘Letters to my Tummy’ covers crop-tops, pregnancy and sit-ups.
This wonderfully warm, funny and candid book is a collection of hopeful dispatches from the frontline of girlhood – an impassioned plea to stop piling pressure on girls and young women and allow them to get on with their lives without having to mind the thigh gap . . .

Adventures of a Young Naturalist: The Zoo Quest Expeditions by Sir David Attenborough

English | May 1st, 2018 | ISBN: 1635060699, 1473664969 | 400 Pages | EPUB | 27.64 MB

In 1954, David Attenborough, a young television presenter, was offered the opportunity of a lifetime–to travel the world finding rare and elusive animals for the London Zoo’s collection, and to film the expedition for the BBC for a new show called Zoo Quest.
This is the story of those voyages. Staying with local tribes while trekking in search of giant anteaters in Guyana, Komodo dragons in Indonesia, and armadillos in Paraguay, he and the rest of the team contended with cannibal fish, aggressive tree porcupines, and escape-artist wild pigs, as well as treacherous terrain and unpredictable weather, to record the incredible beauty and biodiversity of these regions.
Written with his trademark wit and charm, Adventures of a Young Naturalist is not just the story of a remarkable adventure, but of the man who made us fall in love with the natural world and taught us the importance of protecting it–and who is still doing so today.

Together: A Journey for Survival by Ann S. Arnold

English | May 5, 2016 | ISBN: 0692689184 | EPUB | 164 pages | 4.3 MB

The only way they would survive, was if they stayed … TOGETHER
Sala Schonwetter lived the perfect life. Married to the man of her dreams, mother to two beautiful children, and a member of one of the most respected families in town; she had it all. The year was 1939, and the world was about to change. In a heartbreaking instant, she had to trade her life of security, family, and simple pleasures–for one of unspeakable loneliness, hardship, and danger. Nothing more than hunted prey, she relied on her inner strength and indomitable will to keep her children alive. But would it be enough? How far would she have to go, and did she have the resolve to get there? One thing she knew for sure …she and her children would live or die one way …. TOGETHER.
Manek was six years old when his world began to collapse. At first, his young eyes failed to see it, but reality came quickly into focus, when his loving gentle mother was forced to beat him in order to save his life. That is when he realized the Nazis wanted to kill him. Suddenly thrust into a new role as man of the house, would he be able to help keep his family safe? Was he strong enough to protect them? He knew only one thing … they would survive if they could stay …TOGETHER.
In Together: A Journey for Survival, Ann Arnold shares her family’s journey through Poland’s countryside as a war of nations thunders around them. The story displays the magnificent strength of a mother’s love and the incredible courage of good people during the worst of times.